Five (5) new sites declared as Protected Areas under the National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS)

Five (5) new sites have been added to the list of Protected Areas under the National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS) ahead of the launching of the Year of the Protected Areas on May 23, 2022.



Signed by the President last April 8, 2022 the following are the new protected areas categorized “Protected Landscapes” under the National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS):

  1. Mt. Arayat in Pampanga – Republic Act 11684
  2. Mt. Pulag in Benguet – Republic Act 11685
  3. Naga-Kabasalan in Zamboanga Sibugay – Republic Act 11686 
  4. Tirad Pass in Ilocos Sur – Republic Act 11687
  5. Banao (Balbalasang-Balbalan National Park) in Kalinga – Republic Act 11688 

Under the NIPAS, these areas are recognized because of their rich biological resources, both flora and fauna, that are native and distinct to these locations, as well as their aesthetic and ecological importance.

Also under the same law, the State shall ensure the conservation, protection, management and rehabilitation of these area ensuring the mobilization of resources for the institutional mechanisms, as well as the full scientific and technical support needed for the conservation of biodiversity and the integrity of the ecosystems, culture and indigenous practices. The law also state the creation of the Protected Area Management Board (PAMB) within 90 days from the effectivity of the laws to oversee the management of these protected landscapes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *